The Phoenix Within

I dare you to take
A walk down the memory lane,
And recognize the ‘You’
That you had been just two years ago.

I challenge you to declare honestly
That you don’t regret the changes,
The lack of motivation
And your blatant disregard for the norms.

I had higher hopes,
But I fear they were misplaced.
For you seem content with being
A mere shadow of what you could be.

Did I not inspire you enough?
Or do you not care anymore!
All the efforts over the years
Have reached this point of stagnation.

Maybe you don’t realize
What it feels like to die mentally,
Where only the body remains as an
Incomplete answer to questions that you evaded.

What if I just finish that body too?
Don’t worry, I won’t.
You’re too strong for that.
I know you will force me back in.

We have been through this before,
Haven’t we? And each time you won.
Once again I am counting on you
To work a miracle.

A miracle that will breathe
Some vigour into me, inject passion
Into my work and wipe away the tears
That have watered the cactii in my soul.

For it is You, within me
Who I have always looked up to.
Together we beat the hurdles and
Keep working towards making a better Me.

Leave a comment